Christina Vetsch interviewed Patricia Widmer, Director of NEXT, about this lifelong learning forum and her personal experience of life and career transitions.

What is NEXT about and for whom is this programme designed?

“What is my purpose in the future?” NEXT is about this central question. Experienced personalities are supported in their advanced careers to find their new vocation and to drive it forward in a targeted manner. The abbreviation NEXT is composed of the respective first letters of the integral elements of Networking, Education, EXploration& Transition. The forum encourages lifelong learning, social impact, growth and renewal. NEXT is a unique platform for networking, education and exploration in transition across Europe. Because in today’s fast-paced, high-pressure world of work and life, it is about experienced individuals redefining their vocation and related activities, building new communities and re-evaluating their attitudes to health, well-being and prosperity? NEXT is aimed at seasoned professionals with more than 25 years of experience: executives from global companies and SMEs, professionals such as doctors or lawyers, as well as professionals from academia, governments and NGOs.

Why do you think NEXT has its finger on the pulse?

Well, so far, the education and development landscape includes undergraduate education, graduate education, executive education, continuing/further education and outplacement support. However, there are certain needs that are not being met. Increased life expectancy and the growing importance of lifelong learning are not yet fully addressed. Experienced professionals need more than the traditional executive programmes to improve their business skills. They need, in my opinion:

  • intensive, lifelong university experience,
  • practical guidance on managing key life and career transitions; and
  • support in assessing their own situation, interacting with new communities and setting a meaningful path for the future.

This is where NEXT comes in to support the above-mentioned people on their journey.

Why do universities deal with these target groups?

There are various reasons why different universities, especially in the US, are addressing these target groups. We at the University of St.Gallen are the first in Europe with this forum and want to show our pioneering role again with a unique and innovative portfolio for life and career transitions. NEXT builds on our 15 years of experience of the highly successful “Women Back to Business” programme. In addition, we want to make a significant contribution to society by expanding the offer for these important target groups of professionals. Research shows that having perspective and meaning in life, as well as being part of a vibrant community, boosts our health and has a lasting impact on society. Not only do we get older and stay fitter for longer, but we can also give something back by sharing our experiences and personal insights with younger generations.

What is the importance of lifelong learning for you personally and what further education is next for you?

Lifelong learning is a matter of course for me, because standing still means going backwards. I always want to move out of my comfort zone in order to develop. Especially in the so-called VUCA world (volatility, uncertainty, complexity, ambiguity), we need to constantly develop new skills and competences. I would like to learn more about psychology and especially positive psychology. However, I don’t know yet exactly what further education I will do next. In the meantime, I am gathering knowledge by listening to podcasts, watching webinars and exchanging ideas with inspiring and knowledgeable people.

As a final question: Who or what gives you the best tailwind in transition phases?

First and foremost, it is my family that gives me the strength and energy to persevere in transitional phases. Secondly, it’s my self-efficacy, because I always believe that things will work out in the end. And last but not least, it’s the whole world of sport. Whether it’s watching or attending sports competitions or being active in sports myself, it helps me to recalibrate, refocus and see the goal more clearly again.

Here you can find more information about NEXT.

Here you can watch the corresponding video.

Relevant executive education

About the author

ES 160 Vetsch

Christina Vetsch Corporate Communication Manager

Newsletter

Get the latest articles directly to your inbox.

Share article

More articles

  • Starting a new career after a 20-year break!?

  • The NEXT way to my new purpose

  • Goodbye typical legal career?

  • Courage for non-linear career paths

  • The NEXT way to my new purpose

  • Goodbye typical legal career?

  • Courage for non-linear career paths

  • Do lawyers know what their customers want?

Show all articles

Christina Vetsch interviewte Patricia Widmer, Direktorin des Formats NEXT, zu dem Lifelong Learning Forum und ihren persönlichen Erfahrungen zu Lebens- und Karriereübergängen.

Worum geht es bei NEXT und für wen ist dieses Forum konzipiert?

«What is my purpose in the future?» Um diese zentrale Frage geht es bei NEXT. Erfahrene Persönlichkeiten werden in ihrer fortgeschrittenen Laufbahn unterstützt, ihre neue Berufung zu finden und diese gezielt voranzutreiben. Die Abkürzung NEXT setzt sich aus den jeweiligen Anfangsbuchstaben der integralen Programmelemente von Networking, Education, EXploration & Transition zusammen. Das Forum ermutigt zu lebenslangem Lernen, zu sozialer Wirkung, Wachstum und Erneuerung. NEXT ist europaweit ein einzigartiges Format für Vernetzung, Bildung und Erkundung in Übergangsphasen. Denn in unserer heutigen schnelllebigen, von hohem Druck geprägten Arbeits- und Lebenswelt geht es darum, dass erfahrene Persönlichkeiten ihre Berufung und die damit verbundenen Aktivitäten neu definieren, neue Gemeinschaften aufbauen und ihre Einstellungen zu Gesundheit, Wohlbefinden und Wohlstand neu bewerten. NEXT richtet sich an erfahrene Fachkräfte mit mehr als 25 Jahren Erfahrung: Führungskräfte aus globalen Unternehmen und KMUs, Fachleute wie Ärzte oder Anwälte sowie Fachkräfte aus dem akademischen Bereich, aus Regierungen und aus NGOs.

Warum ist NEXT Ihrer Meinung nach am Puls der Zeit?

Nun, bisher umfasst die Bildungs- und Entwicklungslandschaft die Grundausbildung, die Graduiertenausbildung, die Ausbildung von Führungskräften, die Fort-/Weiterbildung und die Outplacement-Unterstützung. Es gibt jedoch bestimmte Bedürfnisse, die nicht erfüllt sind. Die gestiegene Lebenserwartung und die zunehmende Bedeutung des lebenslangen Lernens werden noch nicht in vollem Umfang berücksichtigt. Erfahrene Fachkräfte brauchen mehr als die traditionellen Programme für Führungskräfte, um ihre geschäftlichen Fähigkeiten zu verbessern. Sie brauchen meiner Meinung nach:

•            intensive, lebenslange Hochschulerfahrung,

•            praktische Anleitungen zur Bewältigung wichtiger Lebens- und Karriereübergänge und

•            Unterstützung in der Beurteilung ihrer eigenen Situation, in der Interaktion mit neuen Gemeinschaften und in der Festlegung eines sinnvollen Weges für die Zukunft.

Genau hier kommt NEXT ins Spiel, um die oben genannten Personen auf ihrem Weg zu unterstützen.

Warum beschäftigen sich Universitäten mit diesen Zielgruppen?

Es gibt verschiedene Gründe, warum sich verschiedene Universitäten, insbesondere in den USA, diesen Zielgruppen annehmen. Wir an der Universität St.Gallen sind die Ersten in Europa mit diesem Forum und wollen unsere Pionierrolle mit einem einzigartigen und innovativen Portfolio für Lebens- und Karriereübergänge erneut zeigen. NEXT baut auf unserer 15-jährigen Erfahrung des sehr erfolgreichen Programms “Women Back to Business” auf. Darüber hinaus wollen wir durch die Ausweitung des Angebots für diese wichtigen Zielgruppen von Berufstätigen einen bedeutenden gesellschaftlichen Beitrag leisten. Die Forschung zeigt, dass eine Perspektive und ein Sinn im Leben sowie die Zugehörigkeit zu einer lebendigen Gemeinschaft unsere Gesundheit fördern und einen nachhaltigen Einfluss auf die Gesellschaft haben. Wir werden nicht nur älter und bleiben länger fit dabei, sondern können auch etwas zurückgeben, indem wir unsere Erfahrungen und persönlichen Erkenntnisse mit jüngeren Generationen teilen.

Welche Bedeutung hat lebenslanges Lernen für Sie persönlich und welche Weiterbildung kommt für Sie als nächstes in Frage?

Lebenslanges Lernen ist für mich eine Selbstverständlichkeit, denn Stillstand bedeutet Rückschritt. Ich will mich immer aus meiner Komfortzone herausbewegen, um mich zu entwickeln. Gerade in der sogenannten VUCA-Welt (Volatilität, Unsicherheit, Komplexität, Ambiguität) müssen wir ständig neue Fähigkeiten und Kompetenzen entwickeln. Ich würde gerne mehr über Psychologie und insbesondere über positive Psychologie lernen. Allerdings weiss ich noch nicht genau, welche Weiterbildung ich als nächstes machen werde. In der Zwischenzeit sammle ich Wissen, indem ich mir Podcasts anhöre, Webinare anschaue und mich mit inspirierenden und sachkundigen Menschen austausche.

Als Abschlussfrage: Wer oder was verschafft Ihnen den besten Rückenwind in Übergangsphasen?

In erster Linie ist es meine Familie, die mir die Kraft und Energie gibt, in Übergangsphasen durchzuhalten. Zweitens ist es meine Selbstwirksamkeit, weil ich immer daran glaube, dass es schlussendlich gut gehen wird. Und nicht zuletzt ist es die ganze Welt des Sports. Sei es, dass ich Sportwettkämpfe schaue, besuche oder selbst aktiv Sport treibe – das hilft mir, mich neu zu kalibrieren, mich neu zu fokussieren und das Ziel wieder klarer zu sehen.

Hier finden sie weitere Informationen zu NEXT.

Hier geht es zum Video.

Relevante Weiterbildung

Über die Autorin / den Autor

ES 160 Vetsch

Dr. Christina Vetsch Corporate Communication Manager

Newsletter

Die neusten Beiträge direkt ins Postfach.

Beitrag teilen

Weitere Beiträge

  • Beruflich durchstarten nach 20 Jahren Erwerbspause!?

  • The NEXT way to my new purpose

  • Goodbye typische Juristenlaufbahn?

  • Mut zu nicht linearen Karriereverläufen

  • Wissen Jurist*innen und Anwält*innen, was Kund*innen wollen?

Alle Beiträge anzeigen